

The Rt Hon Boris Johnson Prime Minister 10 Downing Street London SW1A 2AA

5th January 2021

Dear Boris Johnson,

Peacefully protesting Indian farmers and linked global protests

Many constituents, especially those emanating from the Punjab and other parts of India, were horrified to see footage of water cannon, tear gas and brute force being used against hundreds of thousands of peacefully protesting farmers. The issue has so galvanised the Indian diaspora community, especially those of a Punjabi or Sikh background, and others who have land or links to farming in India, that tens of thousands engaged in global protests, including in towns and cities across the UK.

A cross-party letter was sent to Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab to raise this matter with his Indian counterpart and he has assured that it was raised with the Indian Foreign Minister, but he did not do so with the Indian Prime Minister during his December Delhi meeting.

You were asked about this issue during Prime Minister's Questions on Wednesday 9th December. It seems you misunderstood the question, since you made a reference to Pakistan and the need for "those two Governments to settle" these matters. The issue of course has nothing to do with Pakistan, but is regarding farmers from across India protesting and expressing their concerns of major corporates moving into the sector, as a result of new agriculture laws. Could you please respond to clarify your understanding of this important issue? Do you indeed agree that everyone has a fundamental right to engage in peaceful protest?

We believe your January India visit has now been cancelled, but you intend to meet your Indian counterpart soon. Given the urgency of this matter, could you please confirm that you will definitely convey to the Indian Prime Minister the heart-felt anxieties of our constituents, our hopes for a speedy resolution to the current deadlock and also for the democratic human right of citizens to peacefully protest?

We look forward to your timely response, so that we can inform our constituents accordingly.

Yours sincerely,

15M

Tan Dhesi MP

Member of Parliament for Slough



MPs:

Debbie Abrahams MP

Tahir Ali MP

Hannah Bardell MP

Dame Margaret Beckett MP

Apsana Begum MP Hilary Benn MP Olivia Blake MP Steven Bonnar MP Sir Peter Bottomley MP

Tracy Brabin MP
Kevin Brennan MP
Richard Burgon MP
Dawn Butler MP
Ian Byrne MP
Liam Byrne MP
Ruth Cadbury MP
Dan Carden MP

Alistair Carmichael MP
Sarah Champion MP
Daisy Cooper MP
Rosie Cooper MP
Jeremy Corbyn MP
Stella Creasy MP
Jon Cruddas MP
John Cryer MP
Janet Daby MP
Sir Ed Davey MP
Geraint Davies MP

Martin Docherty-Hughes MP Sir Jeffrey Donaldson MP

Allan Dorans MP Peter Dowd MP Rosie Duffield MP Dame Angela Eagle MP

Tan Dhesi MP

Clive Efford MP
Julie Elliott MP
Marion Fellows MP
Yvonne Fovargue MP
Mary Kelly Foy MP

Neil Gray MP Lilian Greenwood MP Andrew Gwynne MP Neale Hanvey MP Drew Hendry MP

Mike Hill MP

Wera Hobhouse MP
Rachel Hopkins MP
Dr Rupa Huq MP
Imran Hussain MP
Christine Jardine MP
Dan Jarvis MBE MP

Dame Diana Johnson MP

Afzal Khan CBE MP

Ben Lake MP

Emma Lewell-Buck MP

Clive Lewis MP
David Linden MP
Tony Lloyd MP
Carla Lockhart MP

Rebecca Long-Bailey MP Kenny MacAskill MP Angus MacNeil MP Khalid Mahmood MP Shabana Mahmood MP Seema Malhotra MP

Steve McCabe MP

Siobhain McDonagh MP Stewart McDonald MP John McDonnell MP Pat McFadden MP Anne McLaughlin MP

lan Mearns MP
Layla Moran MP
Grahame Morris MP
Caroline Nokes MP
Brendan O'Hara MP
Sarah Olney MP

Kate Osborne MP Kirsten Oswald MP Taiwo Owatemi MP Sarah Owen MP

Ian Paisley MP

Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP Gavin Robinson MP Liz Saville Roberts MP

Jim Shannon MP

Virendra Sharma MP

Tommy Sheppard MP

Andy Slaughter MP

John Spellar MP

Chris Stephens MP

Jamie Stone MP

Zarah Sultana MP

Sam Tarry MP

Alison Thewliss MP

Owen Thompson MP

Stephen Timms MP

Claudia Webbe MP

Mick Whitley MP

Nadia Whittome MP

readia veniceonie ivii

Hywel Williams MP

Munira Wilson MP

Beth Winter MP

Sammy Wilson MP

Mohammad Yasin MP

Peers:

Baroness Armstrong of Hill

Top

Baroness Bennett

Lord Blunkett

Baroness Cox

Lord Harries of Pentregarth

Lord Hendy QC

Lord Hussain

Baroness Hussein-Ece OBE

Baroness Jones of

Moulsecoomb

Lord Judd

Baroness Kennedy

Lord Kennedy of Southwark

Baroness Masham of Ilton

Lord McNicol of West Kilbride

Baroness Smith of Newnham

Lord Stunell OBE

Baroness Warsi

(Peers of course do not represent

constituencies)